Pin It

The festive season is fast approaching and to assist you we have set out below a 'typical' scenario regarding leave for employees on ECCE term time contact and full time staff for the holiday period during Christmas 2018/January 2019.

Scenario 1 - Employee on ECCE term time contract

ABC Creche will be closing for Christmas on Thursday 20th December that is the last working day and they will not re-open until Monday 7th January 2018. Typically this employee’s leave is calculated at 8% of the total hours worked in the period September to June each year.

Thursday Dec 20 Normal day
Friday Dec 21 Annual Leave
Saturday Dec 22
Sunday Dec 23
Monday Dec 24 This is not a Public Holiday/ Annual Leave
Tuesday Dec 25 Christmas Day
Wednesday Dec 26 St Stephen's Day
Thursday Dec 27 Annual Leave
Friday Dec 28 Annual Leave
Saturday Dec 29
Sunday Dec 30
Monday Dec 31 Annual Leave
Tuesday Jan 1 Public Holiday
Wednesday Jan 2 Annual Leave
Thursday Jan 3 Annual Leave
Friday Jan 4 Annual Leave
Saturday Jan 5
Sunday Jan 6
Mon Jan 7 Return to Work

In this example there are 8 days to be recorded as annual leave taken this can be recorded as hours [if using annual hours calculation] for example if the employee works 3 or 3.5 hours a day then that would equate to 24 or 28 hours annual leave.

There are 3 Public Holidays. The Employee should be paid for these days and they should be recorded as PH.

If you have an employee who does not work five days a week and the Public Holiday falls on a day that they would not normally work they are entitled to one fifth of a working week pay for the Public Holiday, alternatively the employer may give an employee paid time off instead of payment for the public holiday. To qualify the employee needs to have worked 40 hours in the 5 weeks prior to the Public Holiday.

Where an employee may work variable hours each week the average day should be calculated by calculating the previous 13 weeks and getting an average week and day and pay accordingly.

Note: Some services give Christmas Eve as a privilege day. If that is the case that is how the day should be recorded.

Scenario 2 - Employee working full time

ABC Creche will close on Friday 21st December at the usual closing time. If an employee wishes to, they may apply for a leave day. Your annual leave policy will apply in terms of how you manage your annual leave applications for example first person to have applied or seniority or rotation if someone had leave last year they may not be granted leave this year. A full time employee will have an entitlement of 20 days [four of their working weeks]

Saturday Dec 22
Sunday Dec 23
Monday Dec 24 This is not a public Holiday/ Annual leave
Tuesday Dec 25 Christmas Day
Wednesday Dec 26 St. Stephens Day
Thursday Dec 27 Annual Leave
Friday Dec 28 Annual Leave
Saturday Dec 29
Sunday Dec 30
Monday Dec 31 Annual Leave
Tuesday Jan 1 New Years Day
Wednesday Jan 2 Return to work

In this example there are 4 days to be recorded as annual leave

There are 3 Public Holidays the employee should be paid for these days and they should be recorded as PH.

If you have an employee who does not work five days a week and the Public Holiday falls on a day that they would not normally work they are entitled to one fifth of a working week pay for the Public Holiday, once they have worked 40 hours in the 5 weeks preceding the public holiday, alternatively the employer may give an employee paid time off instead of payment for the public holiday.

Note: Some services give Christmas Eve as a privilege day. If that is the case that is how the day should be recorded.